Minimig Discussion Forum

Discussing the Open Source FPGA Amiga Project
It is currently Thu Mar 23, 2017 6:16 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Amstrad CPC porting?
PostPosted: Fri Feb 22, 2013 4:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 1566
Location: .de
It would be nice to have an Amstrad CPC simulation on the MinimigV1 board.
A friend had a CPC-464 once and today I own a CPC-6128 but its internal floppy drive is defective.

As fas as I know there is such a core somewhere...
If anyone feels able to do such a porting, it would be very cool!
I do love this system too and still remember most of the Z80 assembly commands :)

_________________
_____________________________
JMP $00000BED ; will guru-meditation until next morning


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amstrad CPC porting?
PostPosted: Fri Feb 22, 2013 6:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 7:48 pm
Posts: 341
You're right, there is such a core - CPCTrex, by the great Tobiflex! http://www.symbos.de/trex.htm There is a port to the DE1 board, but I was never able to get it to do anything. The big problem is the board it was originally targetted to had a Compact Flash slot rather than an SD slot, so some kind of IDE -> SD bridge would be needed.

(If memory serves, it's also written partly in AHDL - I'm not sure how much of an obstacle that would pose on a Xilinx device?)

_________________
~ Amiga 4000/030 ~ Amiga 1200 030/50MHz ~ Turbo Chameleon 64 ~ Altera DE1 with Minimig core ~
Details of my projects: http://retroramblings.net


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amstrad CPC porting?
PostPosted: Fri Feb 22, 2013 6:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 1566
Location: .de
Thank you for the info and link :)

The missing IDE/CF slot on MinimigV1 is a problem. But to be honest a neat CPC core would be OK for me at first.
Some little basic things could be done to enjoy this system (again).
Core+ROMs should fit info the FPGA like at the VIC20 or FPGA64 port. The 64KB RAM may fit into the Spartan3 blockram, too.

Later a tape port could be add or possibly an alternative ARM firmware ;)
But if porting is the problem, its a wish to have...
I will take a look at the sources, perhaps AHDL is more my cup of tea than VHDL :P

_________________
_____________________________
JMP $00000BED ; will guru-meditation until next morning


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amstrad CPC porting?
PostPosted: Fri Feb 22, 2013 7:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2009 8:19 pm
Posts: 9
I have done a CPC Core without AHDL code for the C-One:
http://c64upgra.de/c-one/

Here you can found the source code:
http://c64upgra.de/c-one/download/Symb_cpc_source.zip

But the C-One has also CF/IDE on Board. And so is the CF-SD Bridge missing.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amstrad CPC porting?
PostPosted: Fri Feb 22, 2013 9:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2008 3:00 pm
Posts: 59
boing4000 wrote:
I will take a look at the sources, perhaps AHDL is more my cup of tea than VHDL :P


The Xilinx Software has a commandline tool xport which can convert ahdl to verilog/vhdl.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amstrad CPC porting?
PostPosted: Sat Feb 23, 2013 4:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 1566
Location: .de
Thanks for the link to this CPC sources and the info about "xport" tool.

I did not try but would be very helpful if this tool also can convert VHDL into Verilog...
Else I may only be able to "read something" out of those sources, changes remain impossible.

_________________
_____________________________
JMP $00000BED ; will guru-meditation until next morning


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amstrad CPC porting?
PostPosted: Sun Mar 03, 2013 5:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 10:17 am
Posts: 47
:D that would be really great to have CPC in the Minimig , it's my second favorite machine , hope that will be possible !!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amstrad CPC porting?
PostPosted: Sun Mar 03, 2013 6:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 7:48 pm
Posts: 341
It appears there's another CPC core out there too: http://cpcwiki.eu/index.php/FPGAmstrad

_________________
~ Amiga 4000/030 ~ Amiga 1200 030/50MHz ~ Turbo Chameleon 64 ~ Altera DE1 with Minimig core ~
Details of my projects: http://retroramblings.net


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amstrad CPC porting?
PostPosted: Mon Mar 04, 2013 1:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 1566
Location: .de
Nice :) but "This is a VHDL version of Amstrad CPC".... :roll:

Is it portable anyway?
For a CPC 464 it may be possibe to use FPGA blockram only for memory and rom space.
Maybe better use external S-RAM anyway to spare blockram for perhaps included game as a ROM module, if this is supported by the system.

_________________
_____________________________
JMP $00000BED ; will guru-meditation until next morning


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amstrad CPC porting?
PostPosted: Sat Mar 16, 2013 6:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 10:17 am
Posts: 47
;) Some news in this one ?

Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Translated by Xaphos © 2007, 2008, 2009 phpBB.fr