Minimig Discussion Forum

Discussing the Open Source FPGA Amiga Project
It is currently Sun May 28, 2017 2:29 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Sinclair QL - is this possible?
PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2012 8:26 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 11:31 am
Posts: 91
This web site http://hexadoupe.blogspot.cz/2012/08/budeme-mit-dalsi-moderni-klon-sinclairu.html is Sinclai QL reasoning that could work on Minimigu. And with QL_kick.ROM. Loads Minimig this ROM?

PS: The article is in Czech language ...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sinclair QL - is this possible?
PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2012 5:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 1566
Location: .de
Any alternative core need to be adapted/allinged to use PIC or ARM chip communication.
Currently only the Amiga chipset core can access the MCU and load any ROM or ADF image.

For small computer system the ROM can be synthesized into the core, as with the VIC20, Spectrum etc. one.
Problem is, when the ROM is too large to fit into the FPGA blockram. In this case some trick is necessary to access SRAM and to (pre=load the ROM image into it.

_________________
_____________________________
JMP $00000BED ; will guru-meditation until next morning


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sinclair QL - is this possible?
PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2012 6:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 11:31 am
Posts: 91
I do not understand if it works under Win UAE so why not on Minimig board?

QL Kick.ROM content is intended for the Amiga 500 and the ADF files, too.

From QL Kick.ROM Readme:
Code:
Short:    Amiga Kick ROM for UAE that boots as a QL
Author:   Mark J Swift
Version:  3.25 (beta s)
Uploader: msw@blackpool.ac.uk
Type:     clsc/run/uae


QDOS Classic is a Sinclair QL emulator. It runs on Q40, Amiga and
now UAE via this Kick ROM. Note you don't need an Amiga Kick ROM
to boot UAE as a QL!

QL disks images have to be saved as RAW MFM in order to be
accessable by UAE.


Kick.ROM has a size 256KB


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sinclair QL - is this possible?
PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2012 6:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 1566
Location: .de
Maybe I did not understand the initial posting right ;)
If this QL_KICK.ROM is an alternative Kickstart ROM for (any) Amiga, it also should work on Minimig with the Amiga chipset FPGA core for sure ;).

I can not read the linked website, need to translate in english or german first.
Perhaps I do understand its content better then ;)

_________________
_____________________________
JMP $00000BED ; will guru-meditation until next morning


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sinclair QL - is this possible?
PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2012 6:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 1566
Location: .de
Now I tested the QL_KICK.ROM in Minimig.
Its loading (size match) and show me a frw colored screen display ending with blue.
Then nothing more happen. Inserted DF0.ADF in DF0 ;) is not accessed.

The ROM seems to freez at this blue screen.
Also the ROM is unable to work with "loaded" AR3.ROM in memory. Then I only get a white screen and AR3 is not accessable.

_________________
_____________________________
JMP $00000BED ; will guru-meditation until next morning


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sinclair QL - is this possible?
PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2012 6:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 11:31 am
Posts: 91
link to the article is in Czech language...

It is a pity, it could be an interesting alternative ....


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sinclair QL - is this possible?
PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2012 7:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 1566
Location: .de
The ROM also don't work in the Linux UAE, it only show a black screen.
It's possible, this image need some unimplemented hardware part of an original Amiga, not present in the Minimig core and this older UAE (0.8.29). In E-UAE the ROM can not be used since it has a wrong (uncalculated) checksum.

Possible it falis on Minimig due to same reason as for the 2x AROS68K image.
If I would know the cause, it could possibly be solved.

_________________
_____________________________
JMP $00000BED ; will guru-meditation until next morning


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Translated by Xaphos © 2007, 2008, 2009 phpBB.fr