Minimig Discussion Forum

Discussing the Open Source FPGA Amiga Project
It is currently Fri Apr 28, 2017 4:32 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Frogger - Fpgaarcade
PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2012 10:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 1566
Location: .de
minimig_emu wrote:
Which version firmware do you have?


The only possible one for current Minimig FPGA core: AYQ100818
Sure the .bin file must be named Minimig1.bin in sd-card root.

_________________
_____________________________
JMP $00000BED ; will guru-meditation until next morning


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Frogger - Fpgaarcade
PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2013 11:42 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 11:31 am
Posts: 91
Because I Minimig expanded to 4 megabytes, I corrected an error in the Frogger Arcade. This error did not affect the Minimig with 2 megabytes SRAM

Now it works correctly ... file here

Attachment:
Frogger_minimig.zip [1.84 MiB]
Downloaded 192 times


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Frogger - Fpgaarcade
PostPosted: Sun Mar 03, 2013 6:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 6:41 pm
Posts: 166
Now working on my 4MB minimig with my TFT panel, but still no luck with the TV support.

It does change something with the display as in TV mode I don't get a picture if I connect the Minimig to the Monitor that works fine in 31Khz and I get sound so it running.

_________________
2MB Minimig with PIC
4MB Minimig with ARM Addon board


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Frogger - Fpgaarcade
PostPosted: Sun Mar 03, 2013 6:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 1566
Location: .de
TV set may be equal sensitive to slightly different picture frequence as TFT screen at VGA input.
If the core output a slightly too fast or slow signal (say 53Hz at 33KHz or something), the TV may not be able to catch or display this mode.

Old analog TV model may be able to adapt but modern digital LCD/Plasma screen mostly are not that tolerant.

_________________
_____________________________
JMP $00000BED ; will guru-meditation until next morning


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Frogger - Fpgaarcade
PostPosted: Mon Mar 04, 2013 12:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 6:41 pm
Posts: 166
I have tried both on the old CRT TV I use for my Amiga's and even my old PAL ZX Spectrum 128+ without any luck.

I have used the CRT TV with lots of old Computers and it also works in with both PAL and NTSC signals unlike a number of other older TV's I have tried so I don't think the problem is the TV set as such, but the picture looks similar to what you get when you connect an A1200 and use a AGA VGA Mode so it probably is a timing issue.

My first thought was that the 15/31 pin was not being read so and the picture was still in VGA mode but connecting the minimig to the TFT panel I nomally use for my other minimig did not result in a picture until I changed the jumper 31KHz position did result in a picture being displayed on the TFT panel.

On a related note the ZX Spectrum core for the minimig has a working 15KHz mode I don't know if comparing the code for the 2 cores would be helpful in this case.

_________________
2MB Minimig with PIC
4MB Minimig with ARM Addon board


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Frogger - Fpgaarcade
PostPosted: Mon Mar 04, 2013 12:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 6:41 pm
Posts: 166
minimig_emu wrote:
Because I Minimig expanded to 4 megabytes, I corrected an error in the Frogger Arcade. This error did not affect the Minimig with 2 megabytes SRAM

Now it works correctly ... file here

Attachment:
Frogger_minimig.zip


I also want to say thanks for fixing the support for 4MB Minimigs as I have been having quite a bit of fun Playing Frogger again on my 4MB Minimig connected to my Hitachi TFT Panel.

_________________
2MB Minimig with PIC
4MB Minimig with ARM Addon board


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Frogger - Fpgaarcade
PostPosted: Mon Mar 04, 2013 1:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 1566
Location: .de
@dwyloc

Unfortunately all those core are written in VHDL and this definitely is not my kind of language to code in.
Else I would be able to change or adapt this cores to properly work on TV set.

Important will be a correct CSYNC signal output.
Its been created out of the vsync and hsync combination at the HSYNC pin output, while VSYNC pin will permanently have a 3.3v high-level output.

Also the display timing should be very close to original PAL/NTSC.
Means not too fast, not too slow and with matching synch timings.

_________________
_____________________________
JMP $00000BED ; will guru-meditation until next morning


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Translated by Xaphos © 2007, 2008, 2009 phpBB.fr