Minimig Discussion Forum

Discussing the Open Source FPGA Amiga Project
It is currently Thu Nov 23, 2017 11:17 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: AlienInvasion - Fpgaarcade
PostPosted: Sun Apr 29, 2012 10:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 10:51 pm
Posts: 479
MINIMIG-EMU, it would be fantastic, if you could try, to port the Arcade-Game "MR. DO`S CASTLE" (see picture) to the Minimig, because it`s one of my absolute favourites and really a great game.

But i dont know, if the Minimig-board can run this, because this is lot more complex, than "PAC-MAN" and "ALIEN INVASION (SPACE INVADERS)".


Attachments:
Mr. Do`s Castle (Arcade).jpg
Mr. Do`s Castle (Arcade).jpg [ 92.41 KiB | Viewed 2025 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AlienInvasion - Fpgaarcade
PostPosted: Mon Apr 30, 2012 9:27 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 1568
Location: .de
This game has big ROM size, it also need 3 independent Z80 CPU core and 4x the same sound chips.
I dont think this will fit into the 3s400 FPGA. Pacman already overload available Blockram.

I also would love to see/have Arcade Arkanoid etc. on the Minimig, but the limits are set.

_________________
_____________________________
JMP $00000BED ; will guru-meditation until next morning


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AlienInvasion - Fpgaarcade
PostPosted: Mon Apr 30, 2012 11:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2009 9:54 am
Posts: 349
Maybe he would be more lucky with 68000-based arcade boards.
Just dreaming about CPS1! Can you imagine the ARCADE version of Ghouls'n Ghots running on the Minimig?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AlienInvasion - Fpgaarcade
PostPosted: Mon Apr 30, 2012 1:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 1568
Location: .de
Same problem: Big ROM size.

It really would help if those ROMs could be upload later/before and FPGA just hold the Arcade board logic, as it should be.
But to create such thing as FPGA-mame, it will require a lot of work and dynamic core management!

_________________
_____________________________
JMP $00000BED ; will guru-meditation until next morning


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AlienInvasion - Fpgaarcade
PostPosted: Mon Apr 30, 2012 2:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 10:51 pm
Posts: 479
BOING, when you are an ARKANOID fan, you really should have a look at the C-64 game "TRAZ - Transformable Arcade Zone".

it`s great fun, especially when you play it with 2-player simultan.

look here: http://www.lemon64.com/?mainurl=http%3A ... FID%3D2707

would be great if a C-64 game could be ported to the Minimig :P


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AlienInvasion - Fpgaarcade
PostPosted: Mon Apr 30, 2012 4:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 1568
Location: .de
Thanks, looks good. I do like breakout games (Amiga: Crystal Hammer, Amegas, Jinks etc.) but never played on real Arcade boxes.

To port a C64 etc. game to Minimig, the whole sytem must be ported as well... so the problem is the same or even more complex.

_________________
_____________________________
JMP $00000BED ; will guru-meditation until next morning


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AlienInvasion - Fpgaarcade
PostPosted: Sun Jun 03, 2012 11:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 12:59 am
Posts: 31
Location: France
Thanks for the core :)

Is there a core selection for the Minimig or something to avoid to rename each time the core we want to use ?

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AlienInvasion - Fpgaarcade
PostPosted: Sun Jun 03, 2012 7:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 11:31 am
Posts: 91
gibs wrote:
Thanks for the core :)

Is there a core selection for the Minimig or something to avoid to rename each time the core we want to use ?

Thanks


You can use this: http://jderogee.tripod.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AlienInvasion - Fpgaarcade
PostPosted: Thu Jun 07, 2012 8:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 12:59 am
Posts: 31
Location: France
Thank you.

I forgot to tell that I own an ARM controller, is there an update that support multicore ?

looking at this thread : viewtopic.php?f=5&t=416
hex files are no longer required with the ARM controller.

more informations needed. thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AlienInvasion - Fpgaarcade
PostPosted: Thu Jun 07, 2012 2:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 1568
Location: .de
Currently there is no option in ARM firmware to load alternative FPGA core file.
No doubt, it is possible to do.

(ARM chip need the "firmware.upg" file for update via sd-card)
Release YQ100818 still is the current one.

_________________
_____________________________
JMP $00000BED ; will guru-meditation until next morning


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Translated by Xaphos © 2007, 2008, 2009 phpBB.fr