Minimig Discussion Forum

Discussing the Open Source FPGA Amiga Project
It is currently Wed Nov 22, 2017 10:04 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: PacMan - fpgaarcade
PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2012 10:01 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 11:31 am
Posts: 91
boing4000 wrote:
minimig_emu wrote:
step two and step three :lol: :ugeek: :o

the screen is correct and sound is correct too


Great job :!:

If possible, please share sources or core file :)


Now I can not test the joystick, but if you want you can test and possibly fine-tune .....


Last edited by minimig_emu on Wed Apr 18, 2012 6:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PacMan - fpgaarcade
PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2012 1:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 1568
Location: .de
Thanks a lot!
Works like a charm :)

Joy1 control act strange, will take a look at it.

_________________
_____________________________
JMP $00000BED ; will guru-meditation until next morning


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PacMan - fpgaarcade
PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2012 3:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 11:31 am
Posts: 91
The original board used the switch SW. And I' had to remap the MInimig.

" Switch3 with coin1 (Switch up and then down)
Switch2 is Start2 "
Switch1 is start1 "
Switch0 is used to The Switch Between VGA and NTSC (31K). Up (on) with VGA
and LED0 Will he come.

The push button on the rotary control is Used for reset.

Push buttons left, right up and down are wired to Player1 and Player2
Controls. "


Switch3 with coin1 is mapped to USER0
Switch1 is start1 is mapped to the USER1
and
Switch0 is fixed at 1 (VGA)
Switch2 is Start2 is permanently set to 0

I intend to map on the joystick.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PacMan - fpgaarcade
PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2012 3:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 1568
Location: .de
I found the reason for weird joystick1 behavior:
Signal definition in .ucf file need a "pullup", else even a finger touch at JOY1 pin affect Pacmans moving.
Also directions are not correct... I will post them as soon as it works.

Don't use FPGA pins 15/16, they are wired-up to extended S-RAM as _OE signal.
Better use Joy1/2 fire button for the coin selection ;)

_________________
_____________________________
JMP $00000BED ; will guru-meditation until next morning


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PacMan - fpgaarcade
PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2012 5:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 1568
Location: .de
Here is my version:
- joystick pin and direction fix.
- 15/31Khz jumper implemented (15KHz/tv mode untested, should work)
- Minimig POWER-LED: on=31KHz - off=15KHz

(remove.pdf extension and unpack via e.g. WinZIP)


Attachments:
pacman_Papilio_build.tgz.pdf [1.8 MiB]
Downloaded 195 times

_________________
_____________________________
JMP $00000BED ; will guru-meditation until next morning
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PacMan - fpgaarcade
PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2012 6:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 11:31 am
Posts: 91
Thanks for modification


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PacMan - fpgaarcade
PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2012 7:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2009 9:54 am
Posts: 349
Woho!
Awesome! It plays very well here (Minimig 4MB + ARM controller).
There are however some small sprite errors (ghost-colored lines under the Pacman sprite when a ghost is near).

It's the first core I can put in the Minimig and start playing with it (not counting the Amiga core!) :)
I believe it's in fact the first to archieve this! :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PacMan - fpgaarcade
PostPosted: Thu Apr 19, 2012 9:12 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 1568
Location: .de
Yes its very great (cool ;)) to have one of the original Arcade game running on Minimig board!
Just load the core and play :D Would be nice to see even other portings.
Im willing to help, but VHDL is a pain to me.

Those graphics glitches is not a ROM issue. Same ROM image used in xmame (Linux) show no problem.
I think this is due to some logic or possibly CPU (T80) implementation.

_________________
_____________________________
JMP $00000BED ; will guru-meditation until next morning


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PacMan - fpgaarcade
PostPosted: Thu Apr 19, 2012 12:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2009 9:54 am
Posts: 349
Even with these small errors, the sound is GREAT and control is perfect with a simple Competition Pro joystick.
I got to level 5 yesterday, and I'm improving :D
Pacman is a great game for a fast play when I come back home.

Thanks, minimig_emu and boing4000 for contributing to my FPGA illuions :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: PacMan - fpgaarcade
PostPosted: Fri Apr 20, 2012 10:42 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 1568
Location: .de
If possible it would help to use one of the existing S-RAM chips on Minimig board instead of FPGA Blockram to cure the sprite/graphics glitches.
This design ran out of Blockram and already uses LUTs as memory. This is not working very well.

I think at least the "cram" or "wram" should be able to work in real S-RAM IC.
Maybe both at different address range or same addresses and upper/lower byte parts of the 16bit unit.
I will try this but any help is welcome!

_________________
_____________________________
JMP $00000BED ; will guru-meditation until next morning


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Translated by Xaphos © 2007, 2008, 2009 phpBB.fr