Minimig Discussion Forum
http://minimig.net/

Darkmere on PIC. Mission impossible?
http://minimig.net/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=596
Page 2 of 4

Author:  antiriad [ Thu Aug 15, 2013 5:03 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Mission impossible? Please help me :(

@Boing:
so do you think ARM controller is the only way?
No chance with WHDLoad on PIC and 4Mb?

In the "Readme" there is wrote:

Quote:
That install applies to "Darkmere" © 1992/93 Core Design - 4 disks
Slave requires WHDLoad V10+.
Game needs 1Mb Of Chipmem & about 3Mb of Fastmem (for preload option)


I played it successfully on my real A500+.


@Farahneit:
That guide was very useful to me, thank you!
Maybe you could add a notice to check the file permission in the Mac section about creating HDF: the issue of the not-showing file in the Minimig OSD was 'cause of closed permissions.

Thank you for checking on ARM controller... but maybe someone could also test with a PIC controller? Just to know...

Thank you

Author:  boing4000 [ Thu Aug 15, 2013 5:14 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Mission impossible? Please help me :(

antiriad wrote:
@Boing:
so do you think ARM controller is the only way?
No chance with WHDLoad on PIC and 4Mb?


At least the ADF do not load with PIC controller chip.
It works with the ARM controller, I have tested it before writing the posting ;)

I did not try the WHDLoad version since I do not use this tool at all.
But if some MB of Fastmem is required, the title may fail on MinimigV1 board. Because there only is 1.5MB of Slowmem and 2.0MB of Chipmem available at maximum of an 4MB board.

Author:  antiriad [ Thu Aug 15, 2013 5:30 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Mission impossible? Please help me :(

boing4000 wrote:
antiriad wrote:
@Boing:
so do you think ARM controller is the only way?
No chance with WHDLoad on PIC and 4Mb?


At least the ADF do not load with PIC controller chip.
It works with the ARM controller, I have tested it before writing the posting ;)

I did not try the WHDLoad version since I do not use this tool at all.
But if some MB of Fastmem is required, the title may fail on MinimigV1 board. Because there only is 1.5MB of Slowmem and 2.0MB of Chipmem available at maximum of an 4MB board.


Ok, so no chance for ADF on PIC.
No problem instead for ADF on ARM.
So, do the fastmem issue imply only when using whdload?

Thanks

Author:  boing4000 [ Thu Aug 15, 2013 6:04 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Mission impossible? Please help me :(

antiriad wrote:
So, do the fastmem issue imply only when using whdload?


Yes. The ADF version has no problem in using Slowmem.

The WHDLoad crash may be caused by the usage of 68000 cpu. As mentioned, WHD is designed for 68010 and higher type (up to 68060) with Fastmem. Also some clients may not be tested on native Amiga500/600 since there the ADF version would work just fine.

Author:  AW72 [ Thu Aug 15, 2013 10:59 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Mission impossible? Please help me :(

ANTIRIAD, have you tried an Action-Replay freeze? When the loading process (maybe bootblock) of the DARKMERE.adf is the problem on a Minimig with PIC, then you can try to freeze the game in the game-menue using WinUAE, with the settings that your Minimig has. Maybe from the game-menue on, the game also go on loading with PIC-controller. It`s worth a try.

Author:  gaula92 [ Fri Aug 16, 2013 12:47 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Mission impossible? Please help me :(

Darkmere works perfectly on ADF format on mi Minimig V1.1, wich is equiped with ARM controller.
Whdload versionworks well, too, but has some os swaps when it loads, because it needs +4MB for preloading .

Author:  Faranheit [ Fri Aug 16, 2013 8:53 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Mission impossible? Please help me :(

Hi Antiriad,

We can confirm that the ADF versions of Darkmere works well on our 4MB ARM Minimig's board, but not the WHDLoad version.

We think our WHDLoad version must be outdated compared to Gaula92 version ;)

The WHDLoad version works well on the Mist board for informations.

Thanks, Laurent aka Faranheit
Amedia Computer France

Author:  gaula92 [ Fri Aug 16, 2013 9:12 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Mission impossible? Please help me :(

This is the whdload version I'm using.
Just click to download and play on the Minimig:

http://whdownload.com/games/Update-2007 ... 1_0453.zip

Author:  antiriad [ Fri Aug 16, 2013 9:15 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Mission impossible? Please help me :(

gaula92 wrote:
This is the whdload version I'm using.
Just click to download and play on the Minimig:

http://whdownload.com/games/Update-2007 ... 1_0453.zip


Hi, it is the same I've used on my Minimig with 4Mb and PIC.

Did you mount the HDF to "Main" or "Slave"? What's the memory config?

Maybe there is someone who could test this WHDLoad on a PIC controller? Just to be sure.

Author:  Faranheit [ Fri Aug 16, 2013 9:51 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Mission impossible? Please help me :(

Hi ;)

@Gaula92: We have tried your WHDLoad version and it still doesn't work on our 4MB ARM Minimig's board.

@Antiriad:
Put the HDF file in 'main' and don't forget to check the 'bootable' case in HDToolBox for using it.

Also, don't forget to save the settings in the OSD menu.

Thanks, Laurent aka Faranheit
Amedia Computer France

Page 2 of 4 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/