Minimig Discussion Forum

Discussing the Open Source FPGA Amiga Project
It is currently Fri Jan 19, 2018 11:19 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Changing OSD settings by hardware switches
PostPosted: Mon Apr 22, 2013 11:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2012 11:42 pm
Posts: 29
Would it be possible to install hardware switches somewhere on the 1.1 board and use them to control specific OSD settings? I'd kill for a turbo button, memory knob(s) and a kickstart switcher.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Changing OSD settings by hardware switches
PostPosted: Tue Apr 23, 2013 7:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 10:39 pm
Posts: 26
All Pins are actually used.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Changing OSD settings by hardware switches
PostPosted: Tue Apr 23, 2013 9:07 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 1568
Location: .de
Any possible solution would be much harder to handle than the current OSD.

_________________
_____________________________
JMP $00000BED ; will guru-meditation until next morning


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Changing OSD settings by hardware switches
PostPosted: Tue Apr 23, 2013 12:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2012 11:42 pm
Posts: 29
Yeah ok. I guess it's fine. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Changing OSD settings by hardware switches
PostPosted: Tue Apr 23, 2013 10:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2012 11:42 pm
Posts: 29
Hm. When you say all pins are used, are you referring to the ARM or the FPGA? If there are a few of pins free on the ARM, you could hook up switches for controlling the same stuff as the OSD, right? Of course with some ARM hacking involved.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Changing OSD settings by hardware switches
PostPosted: Wed Apr 24, 2013 10:21 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 1568
Location: .de
ARM has unused IO pins.

But controlling OSD via single pin signal would be hard.
Firmware need to be adjusted (surely) but you may only change very simple things like Turbo/Normal mode or possibly OCS/ECS selection.
Switching Kickstart image require more firmware adjustment like "load pre-selected image via bootloader". Minimig only has 0.5MB of RAM to hold one kickstart image (256KB image are present twice in RAM area).
So the bootloader need to be called and need to know the ROM file to be load.

OSD is a very handy way to do all this and is controllable via keyboard and joystick.
No real Amiga offer this kind of user friendly handling :)

_________________
_____________________________
JMP $00000BED ; will guru-meditation until next morning


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Changing OSD settings by hardware switches
PostPosted: Wed Apr 24, 2013 11:52 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2012 11:42 pm
Posts: 29
Yes, this is great! I just looked at the schematics of the ARM controller and found quite a bunch of unused digital IO pins. I'll look into serious hardware/firmware hacking any year! :D

(To solve the kickstart switch, you could likely setup a couple of predefined kickstart slots to toggle between, and just reset the machine after switching.)

Indeed the OSD is sweet and very flexible, but a little messy for stuff you toggle oftenly. The turbo is my best example. I like it when loading the games, but when playing some of them you need to switch it off because of the infamous sample skipping or graphic glitches.

Beside, I hated to see my Amiga lacking a turbo button which my friend's pc had. I wanted one ever since. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Changing OSD settings by hardware switches
PostPosted: Wed Apr 24, 2013 1:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 1568
Location: .de
Turbo/Normal mode already has a shortcut key function: L-CTRL + ALT + "KP+ or KP-".
This is very simple and easy to use without engaging the OSD.

To me a shortcut for the chipset selection would be very nice to have (say CTRL+ALT+"KP.") :)

_________________
_____________________________
JMP $00000BED ; will guru-meditation until next morning


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Changing OSD settings by hardware switches
PostPosted: Wed Apr 24, 2013 2:24 pm 
Online

Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 7:48 pm
Posts: 341
boing4000 wrote:
To me a shortcut for the chipset selection would be very nice to have (say CTRL+ALT+"KP.") :)


Nice idea - and code-wise that should be a pretty simple addition :)

_________________
~ Amiga 4000/030 ~ Amiga 1200 030/50MHz ~ Turbo Chameleon 64 ~ Altera DE1 with Minimig core ~
Details of my projects: http://retroramblings.net


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Changing OSD settings by hardware switches
PostPosted: Wed Apr 24, 2013 2:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2012 11:42 pm
Posts: 29
Aha! There are shortcuts... :D It might render my idea less important. Anyway, I still miss the turbo button.

Is there a list of available shortcuts anywhere?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Translated by Xaphos © 2007, 2008, 2009 phpBB.fr