Minimig Discussion Forum

Discussing the Open Source FPGA Amiga Project
It is currently Fri Jun 23, 2017 10:31 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Music notes skipped in turbo mode
PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2013 11:31 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 11:31 am
Posts: 91
boing4000 wrote:
Sure a multiple cpu speed setting is possible.
But as always, I am unable to adapt the PIC or ARM firmware for this kind of changed.

Maybe I could add to the new ARM firmware. I look at it ...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Music notes skipped in turbo mode
PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2013 2:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2009 9:54 am
Posts: 349
minimig_emu wrote:
Maybe I could add to the new ARM firmware. I look at it ...


It seems you got to compile MMRobinsonb5's DE1 version and make it work on the Minimig V1.1 board! Now that's great!!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Music notes skipped in turbo mode
PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2013 2:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 11:31 am
Posts: 91
gaula92 wrote:
minimig_emu wrote:
Maybe I could add to the new ARM firmware. I look at it ...


It seems you got to compile MMRobinsonb5's DE1 version and make it work on the Minimig V1.1 board! Now that's great!!



Yes firmware DE1 works very nicely on Minimig. I added a recording alternative FPGA cores. Now it is in the testing phase ...

But switching frequency cpu 7 -> 14 -> 50 MHz comes up later.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Music notes skipped in turbo mode
PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2013 2:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2009 9:54 am
Posts: 349
Do you mean we will be able to choose between different cores on boot??
Like loading your PAC MAN, FROGGER, etc... arcades or the Amiga??

Oh man, oh man... this is too much...!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Music notes skipped in turbo mode
PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2013 2:08 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 10:51 pm
Posts: 478
When this new audio-things here come to the CPU-Turbo mode, then it would also be very good, when it`s possible to reset the Minimig in CPU-Turbo. It`s a little bit nervy, that this don`t work at the moment and for Reset CPU-Normal must be set before.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Music notes skipped in turbo mode
PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2013 11:19 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 1566
Location: .de
Reset in Turbo mode works but AR3 can not handle the cpu speed + cache very well.
When running Minimig without AR3 (hold down MENU button on the board while initial bootloader appear and power-led flicker!), the reset works always fine.

_________________
_____________________________
JMP $00000BED ; will guru-meditation until next morning


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Music notes skipped in turbo mode
PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2013 11:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 10:51 pm
Posts: 478
Aaah okay. I didn`t knew, that Reset in Turbo-Mode is possible, when the Action-Replay is disabled. Good to know.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Music notes skipped in turbo mode
PostPosted: Sat Feb 09, 2013 8:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 1566
Location: .de
I have tested this again:
Actually the Turbo mode itself is a problem if there is more SLOW RAM enabled as physically available.

On a 2MB Minimig board you have to set Slowram to a maximum of 1.0MB. With loaded AR3 the maximum is 0.5MB!
No more because Kickstart will add memory where is none and a yellow screen will appear.

Then a reset at Turbo mode is also possible with AR3.

_________________
_____________________________
JMP $00000BED ; will guru-meditation until next morning


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Music notes skipped in turbo mode
PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2013 11:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2012 8:16 am
Posts: 15
I would also prefer a core with 7 mhz and 14 mhz setting. There are many games which would improve a lot from a 14 mhz setting.
For example Syndicate, Wings or Wing Commander which are too slow at 7 mhz and much too fast even at 28 mhz.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Music notes skipped in turbo mode
PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2013 12:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 1566
Location: .de
Remember that also the Bitter is faster at Turbo mode, no matter how fast the CPU will be.
This will speed-up any vector based game.

I can not get the 14MHz working. Seems there is more adaption required.

_________________
_____________________________
JMP $00000BED ; will guru-meditation until next morning


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Translated by Xaphos © 2007, 2008, 2009 phpBB.fr