Minimig Discussion Forum

Discussing the Open Source FPGA Amiga Project
It is currently Tue Jun 27, 2017 1:47 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: SPI mod
PostPosted: Sat Mar 10, 2012 8:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 11:56 pm
Posts: 43
boing4000 wrote:
Take a look at picture of 2nd posting.


YIKES!

You know whats really strange.

I did mine by removing and bridging R51.

yaqube

"You can bypass R51 resistor and activate Fast SPI option to improve emulated hard disk performance and ADF file browsing speed."

is this an alternative method or is my minimig incorrect? SPI mode works.... i get over 2MB/sec on sysinfo on DH0

there is no way I can re-solder a surface mount component with my skills...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SPI mod
PostPosted: Sun Mar 11, 2012 10:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 1566
Location: .de
No thats the same. In first reading I interprete "bypass R51" as remove the component and bridge pads with 0 Ohm soldering material.
After I saw how it really was, I replaced R51 and made the bridging as to see in picture.

This is the right way to do Fast-SPI mod.

_________________
_____________________________
JMP $00000BED ; will guru-meditation until next morning


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SPI mod
PostPosted: Sun Mar 11, 2012 11:00 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 8:07 am
Posts: 36
Hi all, pics from my SPI mod

Image

Image

Now shots from SysInfo

Image

Image

Shouldn't I get faster ratings? I remember reading posts with higher numbers...

EDIT: image URLs corrected


Last edited by Emorle on Tue Oct 20, 2015 8:24 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SPI mod
PostPosted: Sun Mar 11, 2012 11:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 1566
Location: .de
Soldering looks good, well done :)

Are you using an old ARM + FPGA core release version?
Sysinfo should rate about 8.xx to an original A600 at about 52MHz (actually 49.63MHz) in Turbo mode.

Due to missing CPU Cache (in FPGA) and older firmware the data transfer is lower.
It also depent on SD card type and size!

Current release of ARM firmware is AYQ100818.
Latest FPGA core is the "audio fix" one or FSB110410.

_________________
_____________________________
JMP $00000BED ; will guru-meditation until next morning


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SPI mod
PostPosted: Sun Mar 11, 2012 11:52 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 8:07 am
Posts: 36
boing4000 wrote:
Soldering looks good, well done :)

Why, thank you! As you can see, I'm really not what one would call a "soldering expert", and SMD always has scared me off. But I thought I might be able to pull that one off. I didn't have a small enough gauge wire, so I opened a bigger one up and tinned 3 of its threads together.

Thanks for the summary of which FW and core to use, that still wasn't all clear to me. I'll test and post back with results.

And now for some Minimig 3D eye-candy (use red/blue goggles, red lens on left eye):

Image

Image

They could have better alignement / parallax, but this was done in 3 minutes for the sake of fun and the effect does work.

EDIT: image URL's corrected


Last edited by Emorle on Tue Oct 20, 2015 8:23 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SPI mod
PostPosted: Sun Mar 11, 2012 12:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 11:56 pm
Posts: 43
boing4000 wrote:
No thats the same. In first reading I interprete "bypass R51" as remove the component and bridge pads with 0 Ohm soldering material.
After I saw how it really was, I replaced R51 and made the bridging as to see in picture.

This is the right way to do Fast-SPI mod.


I could get someone to replace R51 and do it the right way, but as long as its the same circuit wise i'll just leave it as is. I did end up doing a pretty clean job. Whats done is done :)

I can see how your method is a lot simpler to undo if I needed to so.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SPI mod
PostPosted: Sun Mar 11, 2012 12:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 11:56 pm
Posts: 43
Emorle wrote:
Hi all, pics from my SPI mod

Image

Image

Now shots from SysInfo

Image

Image

Shouldn't I get faster ratings? I remember reading posts with higher numbers...


Well, your speeds are not bad and certainly I'm sure the SPI mod helped, but I'm getting over 2mb/sec with a 32GB patriot LX series with 2 4GB HD files (with my incorrect SPI mod I might add)

Also, your CPU speed should be about the same as the A3000. You are really low there. It should say "cowabunga!", not "Excellent!". You'll also notice that Sysinfo reporting your CPU at 40MHZ where mine is over 50mhz. You are also running in NTSC mode which I think should make it slightly faster than mine...


Attachments:
Cowabunga.jpg
Cowabunga.jpg [ 161.93 KiB | Viewed 1961 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SPI mod
PostPosted: Mon Mar 12, 2012 8:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 8:07 am
Posts: 36
Hiya bbond007, thanks for the screenshot and comments! Still need to test my system with boing4000's recommendation. Will post back when done.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SPI mod
PostPosted: Mon Mar 12, 2012 11:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 11:56 pm
Posts: 43
Emorle wrote:
Hiya bbond007, thanks for the screenshot and comments! Still need to test my system with boing4000's recommendation. Will post back when done.


I tested my Minimig again in NTSC mode and most of the numbers were the same with the overall rating being 8.76.

if you try new minimig.bin and get a red screen then you'll need to flash the ARM, which is very simple task and takes seconds but don't delete your existing minimig.bin as i think you'll need to boot it to upgrade the ARM. maybe i worry too much and there is another way :) probably.

good luck.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SPI mod
PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2012 10:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 1566
Location: .de
Yes, first the ARM chip need to updated via OSD and FIRMWARE.UPG file in sd-card root.

After the ARM is up to date Minimig bootloader will show the RED screen.
Now its time to copy new/matching MINIMIG1.BIN file to sd-card root.

Older version can be stored as a backup but will no longer work with the new ARM release.

_________________
_____________________________
JMP $00000BED ; will guru-meditation until next morning


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Translated by Xaphos © 2007, 2008, 2009 phpBB.fr