Minimig Discussion Forum

Discussing the Open Source FPGA Amiga Project
It is currently Sun Feb 18, 2018 4:58 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 211 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: ARM Board Preorder
PostPosted: Mon Jul 20, 2009 10:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 5:38 pm
Posts: 15
Location: Somewhere in the UK
Firedawg wrote:
Sorry, your reply cleared things up.

Ah no problem ;)

Anyhoow, I just got it finished and fitted and it fits in nicely (see attached). Yaqube has done a great job with this board and the firmware is a nice improvement on the previous, Desert Dream runs without any slowdown now with just normal settings.

(Picture removed and reposted in this thread)


Last edited by Hojo Norem on Wed Jul 22, 2009 7:36 am, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ARM Board Preorder
PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2009 2:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 10:51 pm
Posts: 480
HOJO NOREM that case looks interesting, can you picture a photo how it looks when its closed? the red and black buttons, are they for RESET and MENUE?
are there any other differences between yours and the standard ones?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ARM Board Preorder
PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2009 11:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2009 3:46 pm
Posts: 21
My board arrived today. Excellent.

And to that minimig in a special case two posts above: KUDOS!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ARM Board Preorder
PostPosted: Wed Jul 22, 2009 12:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2009 11:58 am
Posts: 14
I have recieved my arm controller and fitted it, it works like a charm, I also had to create a config file so that it would save the settings but that was no problem. Also love the fact that with really long titles and information on adf's it scrolls across the screen, and it marks which disks are which e.g. 1/5, 2/5 etc.. Fantastic! Thanks Jakub.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ARM Board Preorder
PostPosted: Wed Jul 22, 2009 1:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 1568
Location: .de
russell1980 wrote:
and it marks which disks are which e.g. 1/5, 2/5 etc.. Fantastic! Thanks Jakub.

I think this numbers is present in the .adf file name itself. If not, I would like to know how this info is generated :)

_________________
_____________________________
JMP $00000BED ; will guru-meditation until next morning


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ARM Board Preorder
PostPosted: Wed Jul 22, 2009 2:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 10:11 am
Posts: 197
boing4000 wrote:
russell1980 wrote:
and it marks which disks are which e.g. 1/5, 2/5 etc.. Fantastic! Thanks Jakub.
I think this numbers is present in the .adf file name itself. If not, I would like to know how this info is generated :)

Indeed the disk number is extracted from ADF name. If file name contains substring "X of Y" (where X and Y are one or two digit numbers), e.g. "Disk 4 of 12", then disk number info is displayed as "X/Y".


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ARM Board Preorder
PostPosted: Wed Jul 22, 2009 2:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 4:43 pm
Posts: 47
Hi all!
Got my ARM board yesterday, it works great. Now i'm fighting with a hdf file that refuse to work!
Great work, Jakub!

Best regards


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ARM Board Preorder
PostPosted: Wed Jul 22, 2009 8:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 3:50 am
Posts: 40
Jakub - I noticed there is no normal/fast blitter option with the ARM FW. Is this lumped together with CPU/turbo, or just not available anymore?

One reason I ask is I'm pretty sure I had some stuff that ran much faster graphically with the old 'fast blitter' option than it does now with just the 'turbo' setting.

And HUGE THANKS for the ARM boards - they are awesome!! :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ARM Board Preorder
PostPosted: Wed Jul 22, 2009 8:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 10:11 am
Posts: 197
remowilliams wrote:
I noticed there is no normal/fast blitter option with the ARM FW. Is this lumped together with CPU/turbo, or just not available anymore?

Yes, the fast blitter option is now combined with CPU turbo mode.

remowilliams wrote:
One reason I ask is I'm pretty sure I had some stuff that ran much faster graphically with the old 'fast blitter' option than it does now with just the 'turbo' setting.

The CPU bus access timing in turbo mode has been changed a little bit to comply with synchronous design practice. It can introduce extra bus latency in some cases but the slowdown shouldn't be higher than 5%. What stuff are you talking about?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ARM Board Preorder
PostPosted: Fri Jul 24, 2009 8:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 3:50 am
Posts: 40
yaqube wrote:
What stuff are you talking about?

Turns out I was mixing things up between playing with things on the A1200 and the minimig. :? The one game in particular that I was thinking of, I went back and uninstalled the ARM board to use the older firmware - and the speed is the same in 'turbo mode' that it was in 28/fast before.

Thanks for clarification of the mode. :D


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 211 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Translated by Xaphos © 2007, 2008, 2009 phpBB.fr