Minimig Discussion Forum

Discussing the Open Source FPGA Amiga Project
It is currently Sat Feb 17, 2018 7:36 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: First FPGA experience
PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 1:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 12:57 pm
Posts: 26
Location: Italy
:arrow: Hello folks!
Great to have a forum area for C-ONE's minimig.
Yesterday i received the new FPGA board Jens sent to me for my C-One and as soon as I back home from the my evening course, I tried to make it work. I've followed the instructions updating it with Newboot and putting the kick.rom and ADF files inside the minimig folder but I didn't succeed to see any amiga screen on my monitor. I've tried to swap kickstart files and somthing else but....at the 3:00 am I decided to go bed :)
This evening I'll be back at work.

By now, am I the first who get the new FPGA at the moment?

Waiting to share experiences...

Ciao!



(Forgive my basic english, I hope you can read it indeed)

_________________
Amiga labels at: sites.google.com/site/retrolabels


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: First FPGA experience
PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 2:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 1:02 am
Posts: 109
Was it shipped via TNT in the netherlands? Mine was shipped in that batch too...

I'm sure it will take a bit longer to arrive in the US.

I assume that you are using the minimig core from Individual Computers website?

I will surely report back as soon as I get mine.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: First FPGA experience
PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 3:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 12:57 pm
Posts: 26
Location: Italy
RchGrav wrote:
Was it shipped via TNT in the netherlands? Mine was shipped in that batch too...
I'm sure it will take a bit longer to arrive in the US.
I assume that you are using the minimig core from Individual Computers website?


At the moment I forget the courier Jens used to send me it, but it comes very quickly. Well, it's true USA is a little bit far from Germany than Italy... :) Times depend by the way choosed for delivering. Packages from/to oversea are always damned expensives , even when you choose a "long time awaiting" way to deliver. I won't mind about a UPS way.. :(

And yes, I bought all my stuffs from Individual Computers.


Greetings

_________________
Amiga labels at: sites.google.com/site/retrolabels


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: First FPGA experience
PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 3:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 1:02 am
Posts: 109
I think the shipment went out only last Thursday from Jens. Mine went out in that first shipment too.

I'm sure it will take longer to the US.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: First FPGA experience
PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 5:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 4:04 pm
Posts: 261
Location: Lake Charles, USA / Rio, Brazil
I hope you get it up and running before mine arrives so that I don't end up banging my head against a wall. :-D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: First FPGA experience
PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 11:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 12:57 pm
Posts: 26
Location: Italy
Hello guys,
bad news :(

I still didn't get any amiga screen here.
I've putted NEWBOOT 2.01 in a fresh-formatted CF card (128 MB) then I cloned the Minimig cores in multip'le folders to test different kickstarts.
If I well translated the short docs, only the kickstart file is missing, so:
I renamed kickstarts v1.2, 1.3, 2.04, 3.1 to KICK.ROM and putted into 4 different Minimig core folders. (All the kickstarts works fine with WinUae..)
The Amiga option appear correctly on menu,
I tried to change kickstart files (same version, different release)
I tried to change simm and sdram
I tried to change monitor (lcd and CRT)
I tried to change power supply

No way. All the cores work, but not Minimig ones.
Well, I believe is better I'll wait some other of you receive the fpga, to cross our experiences...
In the meantime I'll surf the net searching for more infos..
I'm quite sure I'm making a mistake somewhere, but where? :(

...to be continued.

_________________
Amiga labels at: sites.google.com/site/retrolabels


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: First FPGA experience
PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2008 12:12 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 4:04 pm
Posts: 261
Location: Lake Charles, USA / Rio, Brazil
I take it you were following these instructions:

Quote:
Minimig How to Use
Download the core and put this in the c1dcores in a separate folder called minimig_pal.
You can make more versions by copying the data to for instance minimig_pal1.
In each directory you need: Extender.rbf, select.raw, support.bin, support.rbf.
You have to add yourself kick.rom (kickstart 1.3 size 512 KB).
To start a game you will need to add and adf file (amiga floppy file).
Download for free Mickey Mouse from Gremlin. Put the Mickey.adf in the same directory.

How to Start
When above is installed the Amiga Workbench V1.3 floppy disk will be displayed.
Use a normal ps2 keyboard,and press F12 to activate to menu.
Other option: Home key active menu. Page Up / Page Down to navigate.
Press on option "insert adf" Home key. Press Page Up / Page Down to select "mickey.adf"
Press Home key to start loading and wait.
Use the second serial port to use the one atari joystick.

Options
You can use Kickrom 1.3 or: 1.0,1.2,2.0. Kickrom 1.3 is most stable, but sometimes older version is needed.

Problems
For the c-one minimig you will a crt monitor or a special lcd monitor that can handle the special resolution.
On a normal lcd monitor the screen will not be able to show anything.
If the Workbench screen does not show use the "reset" option in the menu, and boot again.
Other option is to defrag the compactflash memory.
If the key is stuck in the menu, press Home key one time to stop the repeating.
The Amiga games have a lot of copy protection, as a result not all games will work.
Tested and working Flashback, Bombjack and Mickey Mouse.


My C-One didn't arrive today. Fingers crossed for tomorrow...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: First FPGA experience
PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2008 11:42 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 12:57 pm
Posts: 26
Location: Italy
Darrin wrote:
I take it you were following these instructions:

Quote:
Minimig How to Use
Download the core and put this in the c1dcores in a separate folder called minimig_pal.
You can make more versions by copying the data to for instance minimig_pal1.


Tnx for hints..
From where did you take these infos?

Ciao

_________________
Amiga labels at: sites.google.com/site/retrolabels


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: First FPGA experience
PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2008 2:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 1:02 am
Posts: 109
Pikkey wrote:
Darrin wrote:
I take it you were following these instructions:

Quote:
Minimig How to Use
Download the core and put this in the c1dcores in a separate folder called minimig_pal.
You can make more versions by copying the data to for instance minimig_pal1.


Tnx for hints..
From where did you take these infos?

Ciao


Its was a post on C-one.net.... Did it work for you?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: First FPGA experience
PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2008 4:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 3:57 pm
Posts: 9
Hi together.
I'm also an owner of a c-one board and the extender.

Tobiflex additionally gave the hint that the rom needs to have the size of 512 k
masterhit


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Translated by Xaphos © 2007, 2008, 2009 phpBB.fr