Minimig Discussion Forum
http://minimig.net/

Tested new Minimig cores v1.15 and..
http://minimig.net/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=24
Page 1 of 2

Author:  Pikkey [ Tue Dec 09, 2008 12:30 am ]
Post subject:  Tested new Minimig cores v1.15 and..

I've just tested the new core.
What is changed here is:
-- now I can keep the 128Mb SDram on
-- the NTSC core seems to boot easily (before it fault to load, sometimes...)

Pal still won't work. :| With or without sdram.

I don't know if it is useful, but I noticed the light sequences of the red led of motherboard, are different.
With NTSC core the light goes up and a little down before to show the kickstart screen.
When launching PAL core, it goes up using 3 different light intensity ( and screen doesn't show nothing, of course) and hang up.
Do your C-One do the same? :?:


Hope you understand what I mean. My english is so short... :(

Ciao!

Author:  RchGrav [ Tue Dec 09, 2008 1:12 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Tested new Minimig cores v1.15 and..

When running the NTSC core the light remains dimly lit.

When running the PAL core it blinks brightly and then goes back to dimly lit.

My board never shows any progress of booting the kickstart rom, but I do see the following screen... (HANG)

(Your english seems great to me.)

Attachments:
IMG_0073.JPG
IMG_0073.JPG [ 35.12 KiB | Viewed 4561 times ]

Author:  Pikkey [ Tue Dec 09, 2008 1:16 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Tested new Minimig cores v1.15 and..

well....in the new core, I've succesful run Kickstart 3.1

Then I tried to launch Sysinfo and....WHAT?? :shock:
It report I'm running a PAL Amiga...but as you all already know, only the core named NTSC works till now.

So? :?: :?: :?: :?: :?:

Let's wait the answer of Tobias the Guru (meditation?) ... :) ;)

Anyway...Minimig run Amiga at 31,70 Mhz!! Nice, isn't it?

Attachments:
File comment: Sysinfo !!
IMGP4512_2.jpg
IMGP4512_2.jpg [ 46.63 KiB | Viewed 4534 times ]
File comment: Kickstart 3.1
IMGP4510_2.jpg
IMGP4510_2.jpg [ 76.79 KiB | Viewed 4545 times ]

Author:  Pikkey [ Tue Dec 09, 2008 1:22 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Tested new Minimig cores v1.15 and..

RchGrav wrote:
When running the NTSC core the light remains dimly lit.

My board never shows any progress of booting the kickstart rom, but I do see the following screen... (HANG)



That screen appear even if you delete the kickstart file..
Sometime I get the same screen at first Power-on, but after a reset (by the jumper, not switching off) it boot correctly.
(Maybe the power supply need a warm start to make the C-one work?)
Did you try this?

Ciao

Author:  RchGrav [ Tue Dec 09, 2008 1:32 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Tested new Minimig cores v1.15 and..

Pikkey wrote:
RchGrav wrote:
When running the NTSC core the light remains dimly lit.

My board never shows any progress of booting the kickstart rom, but I do see the following screen... (HANG)



That screen appear even if you delete the kickstart file..
Sometime I get the same screen at first Power-on, but after a reset (by the jumper, not switching off) it boot correctly.
(Maybe the power supply need a warm start to make the C-one work?)
Did you try this?

Ciao



Hmm, right now I can't get the reset switch to boot the board. Reconfigure will boot the board, and power will boot the board. Reset resets the board, but newboot 2.01 does not load.

Let me try one of the other PSU's also. I seem to remember that reset did work before to boot the board.

Author:  Pikkey [ Tue Dec 09, 2008 1:36 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Tested new Minimig cores v1.15 and..

RchGrav wrote:

Hmm, right now I can't get the reset switch to boot the board. Reconfigure will boot the board, and power will boot the board. Reset resets the board, but newboot 2.01 does not load.


Yes, forgive me, I was meaning the "reconfigure" jumper...
You are still using newboot?
Why don't you try the today release 1.15? Look at the C-one site , download section...

Author:  RchGrav [ Tue Dec 09, 2008 2:06 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Tested new Minimig cores v1.15 and..

Yeah, I tried 1.15 the moment it was available. If there is a new file, I'm RIGHT on top of it. :geek:

Just for the heck of it I just replaced all of the jumpers, reflashed BBClassic, then reflashed Newboot 2.01...

Then tried all over again... still no go.

I have also tried an Antec Signature Series 850W PS, Antec's top of the line PS, a 450W Antec Earthwatts PS, and the picoPSU (My Favorite!).

I'm out of ideas, each new revision that comes out has me changing all my stuff around, memory, psu's, and CF cards (32MB, 1GB, 2GB).

I also have the DIMM completely removed.... I have even removed my 6581 SID chip.

Pikkey, I'm wondering, do you have the BA cartridge mod?

What is the problem most likely to be? the memory? or the psu? or the CF? in anyone opinion.

Author:  Pikkey [ Tue Dec 09, 2008 7:48 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Tested new Minimig cores v1.15 and..

RchGrav wrote:
Yeah, I tried 1.15 the moment it was available. If there is a new file, I'm RIGHT on top of it. :geek:

I'm out of ideas, each new revision that comes out has me changing all my stuff around, memory, psu's, and CF cards (32MB, 1GB, 2GB).
I also have the DIMM completely removed.... I have even removed my 6581 SID chip.
Pikkey, I'm wondering, do you have the BA cartridge mod?
What is the problem most likely to be? the memory? or the psu? or the CF? in anyone opinion.




My board is still without BA cartridge mod. I well know how frustrating is to switch components and to get the same result. :)
Keep on!
In my opinion there is something nobody focused yet, but that create these kind of troubles.
To test yourself, I've added a backup of my CF card with NTSC core on it. If you want, try it, for debug purposes.

http://sites.google.com/site/retrolabel ... edirects=0
I don't believe there will be too much different than your, but at least you can be sure there is a working KS and WB 1.3 files on it.

My board config: Original C-one MB, + 8mb simm + 150W PSU + Keyboard/Mouse PS2 + CPU card + FPGA + 128MB CF card
All the ports in the back are free, including audio wires, except PS/2.
mmmhh...what else? :)

Ciao

Author:  Darrin [ Tue Dec 09, 2008 8:10 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Tested new Minimig cores v1.15 and..

Pikkey wrote:
RchGrav wrote:
To test yourself, I've added a backup of my CF card with NTSC core on it. If you want, try it, for debug purposes.

http://sites.google.com/site/retrolabel ... edirects=0
I don't believe there will be too much different than your, but at least you can be sure there is a working KS and WB 1.3 files on it.


I hope you don't mind, but I've downloaded that for myself just in case I have trouvle getting my C-One working. It will be handy to have a "control configuration" that someone has had actually working.

Author:  Pikkey [ Tue Dec 09, 2008 8:56 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Tested new Minimig cores v1.15 and..

Darrin wrote:
I hope you don't mind, but I've downloaded that for myself just in case I have trouvle getting my C-One working. It will be handy to have a "control configuration" that someone has had actually working.


Of course!
More people run minimig properly, more easy to find out and solve troubles :)
Enjoy!

Page 1 of 2 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/