Minimig Discussion Forum

Discussing the Open Source FPGA Amiga Project
It is currently Sat Oct 21, 2017 12:11 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Tested new Minimig cores v1.15 and..
PostPosted: Tue Dec 09, 2008 12:30 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 12:57 pm
Posts: 26
Location: Italy
I've just tested the new core.
What is changed here is:
-- now I can keep the 128Mb SDram on
-- the NTSC core seems to boot easily (before it fault to load, sometimes...)

Pal still won't work. :| With or without sdram.

I don't know if it is useful, but I noticed the light sequences of the red led of motherboard, are different.
With NTSC core the light goes up and a little down before to show the kickstart screen.
When launching PAL core, it goes up using 3 different light intensity ( and screen doesn't show nothing, of course) and hang up.
Do your C-One do the same? :?:


Hope you understand what I mean. My english is so short... :(

Ciao!

_________________
Amiga labels at: sites.google.com/site/retrolabels


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tested new Minimig cores v1.15 and..
PostPosted: Tue Dec 09, 2008 1:12 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 1:02 am
Posts: 109
When running the NTSC core the light remains dimly lit.

When running the PAL core it blinks brightly and then goes back to dimly lit.

My board never shows any progress of booting the kickstart rom, but I do see the following screen... (HANG)

(Your english seems great to me.)


Attachments:
IMG_0073.JPG
IMG_0073.JPG [ 35.12 KiB | Viewed 4375 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tested new Minimig cores v1.15 and..
PostPosted: Tue Dec 09, 2008 1:16 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 12:57 pm
Posts: 26
Location: Italy
well....in the new core, I've succesful run Kickstart 3.1

Then I tried to launch Sysinfo and....WHAT?? :shock:
It report I'm running a PAL Amiga...but as you all already know, only the core named NTSC works till now.

So? :?: :?: :?: :?: :?:

Let's wait the answer of Tobias the Guru (meditation?) ... :) ;)

Anyway...Minimig run Amiga at 31,70 Mhz!! Nice, isn't it?


Attachments:
File comment: Sysinfo !!
IMGP4512_2.jpg
IMGP4512_2.jpg [ 46.63 KiB | Viewed 4348 times ]
File comment: Kickstart 3.1
IMGP4510_2.jpg
IMGP4510_2.jpg [ 76.79 KiB | Viewed 4359 times ]

_________________
Amiga labels at: sites.google.com/site/retrolabels
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tested new Minimig cores v1.15 and..
PostPosted: Tue Dec 09, 2008 1:22 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 12:57 pm
Posts: 26
Location: Italy
RchGrav wrote:
When running the NTSC core the light remains dimly lit.

My board never shows any progress of booting the kickstart rom, but I do see the following screen... (HANG)



That screen appear even if you delete the kickstart file..
Sometime I get the same screen at first Power-on, but after a reset (by the jumper, not switching off) it boot correctly.
(Maybe the power supply need a warm start to make the C-one work?)
Did you try this?

Ciao

_________________
Amiga labels at: sites.google.com/site/retrolabels


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tested new Minimig cores v1.15 and..
PostPosted: Tue Dec 09, 2008 1:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 1:02 am
Posts: 109
Pikkey wrote:
RchGrav wrote:
When running the NTSC core the light remains dimly lit.

My board never shows any progress of booting the kickstart rom, but I do see the following screen... (HANG)



That screen appear even if you delete the kickstart file..
Sometime I get the same screen at first Power-on, but after a reset (by the jumper, not switching off) it boot correctly.
(Maybe the power supply need a warm start to make the C-one work?)
Did you try this?

Ciao



Hmm, right now I can't get the reset switch to boot the board. Reconfigure will boot the board, and power will boot the board. Reset resets the board, but newboot 2.01 does not load.

Let me try one of the other PSU's also. I seem to remember that reset did work before to boot the board.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tested new Minimig cores v1.15 and..
PostPosted: Tue Dec 09, 2008 1:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 12:57 pm
Posts: 26
Location: Italy
RchGrav wrote:

Hmm, right now I can't get the reset switch to boot the board. Reconfigure will boot the board, and power will boot the board. Reset resets the board, but newboot 2.01 does not load.


Yes, forgive me, I was meaning the "reconfigure" jumper...
You are still using newboot?
Why don't you try the today release 1.15? Look at the C-one site , download section...

_________________
Amiga labels at: sites.google.com/site/retrolabels


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tested new Minimig cores v1.15 and..
PostPosted: Tue Dec 09, 2008 2:06 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 1:02 am
Posts: 109
Yeah, I tried 1.15 the moment it was available. If there is a new file, I'm RIGHT on top of it. :geek:

Just for the heck of it I just replaced all of the jumpers, reflashed BBClassic, then reflashed Newboot 2.01...

Then tried all over again... still no go.

I have also tried an Antec Signature Series 850W PS, Antec's top of the line PS, a 450W Antec Earthwatts PS, and the picoPSU (My Favorite!).

I'm out of ideas, each new revision that comes out has me changing all my stuff around, memory, psu's, and CF cards (32MB, 1GB, 2GB).

I also have the DIMM completely removed.... I have even removed my 6581 SID chip.

Pikkey, I'm wondering, do you have the BA cartridge mod?

What is the problem most likely to be? the memory? or the psu? or the CF? in anyone opinion.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tested new Minimig cores v1.15 and..
PostPosted: Tue Dec 09, 2008 7:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 12:57 pm
Posts: 26
Location: Italy
RchGrav wrote:
Yeah, I tried 1.15 the moment it was available. If there is a new file, I'm RIGHT on top of it. :geek:

I'm out of ideas, each new revision that comes out has me changing all my stuff around, memory, psu's, and CF cards (32MB, 1GB, 2GB).
I also have the DIMM completely removed.... I have even removed my 6581 SID chip.
Pikkey, I'm wondering, do you have the BA cartridge mod?
What is the problem most likely to be? the memory? or the psu? or the CF? in anyone opinion.




My board is still without BA cartridge mod. I well know how frustrating is to switch components and to get the same result. :)
Keep on!
In my opinion there is something nobody focused yet, but that create these kind of troubles.
To test yourself, I've added a backup of my CF card with NTSC core on it. If you want, try it, for debug purposes.

http://sites.google.com/site/retrolabel ... edirects=0
I don't believe there will be too much different than your, but at least you can be sure there is a working KS and WB 1.3 files on it.

My board config: Original C-one MB, + 8mb simm + 150W PSU + Keyboard/Mouse PS2 + CPU card + FPGA + 128MB CF card
All the ports in the back are free, including audio wires, except PS/2.
mmmhh...what else? :)

Ciao

_________________
Amiga labels at: sites.google.com/site/retrolabels


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tested new Minimig cores v1.15 and..
PostPosted: Tue Dec 09, 2008 8:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 4:04 pm
Posts: 261
Location: Lake Charles, USA / Rio, Brazil
Pikkey wrote:
RchGrav wrote:
To test yourself, I've added a backup of my CF card with NTSC core on it. If you want, try it, for debug purposes.

http://sites.google.com/site/retrolabel ... edirects=0
I don't believe there will be too much different than your, but at least you can be sure there is a working KS and WB 1.3 files on it.


I hope you don't mind, but I've downloaded that for myself just in case I have trouvle getting my C-One working. It will be handy to have a "control configuration" that someone has had actually working.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tested new Minimig cores v1.15 and..
PostPosted: Tue Dec 09, 2008 8:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 12:57 pm
Posts: 26
Location: Italy
Darrin wrote:
I hope you don't mind, but I've downloaded that for myself just in case I have trouvle getting my C-One working. It will be handy to have a "control configuration" that someone has had actually working.


Of course!
More people run minimig properly, more easy to find out and solve troubles :)
Enjoy!

_________________
Amiga labels at: sites.google.com/site/retrolabels


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Translated by Xaphos © 2007, 2008, 2009 phpBB.fr