Minimig Discussion Forum

Discussing the Open Source FPGA Amiga Project
It is currently Sun Mar 26, 2017 7:17 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Minimig and AR3 (nothing displayed)
PostPosted: Wed Oct 22, 2014 3:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2008 5:38 pm
Posts: 36
Hi,

Everything is OK on my Minimig, I enter the AR3 freeze menu by pressing CTRL+Brk,

but I can't see anything : the screen remains dark, nothing is printed,

however typing for example "P0" and Enter I can see the picture previously displayed

then the AR3 works... but why can't I see anything ? (the standard blue screen with white font).

Many thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Minimig and AR3 (nothing displayed)
PostPosted: Thu Oct 23, 2014 1:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2008 5:38 pm
Posts: 36
It seems I have this behaviour with kickstart 3.1 but not with 1.3 (the display is correct).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Minimig and AR3 (nothing displayed)
PostPosted: Thu Oct 23, 2014 7:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 3:10 pm
Posts: 312
Unfortunately ActionReplay is only compatible with Kickstart 1.3 (and 2.x maybe?) as far as I know.

_________________
** my minimig builds: http://somuch.guru/ **


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Minimig and AR3 (nothing displayed)
PostPosted: Sat Oct 25, 2014 9:15 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 1566
Location: .de
Try the "rcolor" command to reset the display color settings.
This effect appear when the Minimig cold start with a Kickstart 2.05 or higer image and the AR3.

The last supported Kickstart by AR3 in real hardware is 2.04.
In Minimig all Kickstarts work but only due to a trick and with some "trouble" in the AR3 handling.
Such as "color setting" and "slow memory size is not detected right". Kick 2.05 up to 3.1 will detect 1.5MB of slowram even if the AR3 is loaded! This will cause a system crash when using >1.0MB of slowram in AmigaOS etc.

Better only use AR3 with Kick 1.x or at most 2.04.
To skip over load of AR3.ROM in bootloader, hold down the MENU botton on the Minimig board as soon as the Power-LED start flickering.

_________________
_____________________________
JMP $00000BED ; will guru-meditation until next morning


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Minimig and AR3 (nothing displayed)
PostPosted: Mon Oct 27, 2014 4:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2008 5:38 pm
Posts: 36
Many thanks for your explanations 8-)

"rcolor" works fine, but for AR3 usage I will only use kickstart 1.3 then.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Translated by Xaphos © 2007, 2008, 2009 phpBB.fr