Minimig Discussion Forum

Discussing the Open Source FPGA Amiga Project
It is currently Thu Jun 22, 2017 11:56 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Newbie can't get Workbench installed on Minimig (MIST)
PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2014 8:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2014 7:35 pm
Posts: 3
Hi there.

I hope this is the right place to ask these questions. I recently aquired a Mist Minimig, and it's working fine for the most part.
I played around a bit with AmigaForver and WinUAE last year, but I'm still very new to not just the Minimig, but to classic Amiga overall. (I grew up with MS-DOS and Nintendo, now I'm just trying to see what other platforms I missed in the late 80s/early 90s.)

So running A500 games with a 1.3 Kickstart ROM works fine - at least the one I tested. But I'm also interested in Amiga as a home computer, not just a game console. I can start Workbench 1.3 from floppy also, but I have issues with 2.1 and 3.1.

For 2.1 I'm using these settings:
A600 IDE: on
Master: (tried most options, including a .hdf file that works fine in WinUAE)
Slave: Disabled
Chipset: 68000, PAL, ECS,
Memory: 2 MB, 0.5MB Slow, 2.0MB Fast, ROM: Kickstart 2.05 (rev 37.300)

Inserting the 2.1 WB install disk starts the workbench, but it seems the HDD is not found, no matter how try to emulate it. I only see RAM Disk and Install 2.1. There is an application called "HD ToolBox" that says "Driver not installed." Trying to partition a fresh .hdf (created with ADF Opus) using HDSetup doesn't work, the application just closes (crashs?) at 0%.

For 3.1 it's worse. I use basically the same settings, but with a 3.1 rev 40.83 kickstart ROM. As a result I have a blank blue screen until I insert a disk (any disk, including the WB3.1 install), then it turns red, and that's it. Nothing happens.

Any help would be appreciated.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Newbie can't get Workbench installed on Minimig (MIST)
PostPosted: Wed Apr 02, 2014 4:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 1566
Location: .de
Welcome and its the right place to ask :)

Kickstart 1.2 and 1.3 only is able to boot from OFS (old filesystem) formatted Floppy disks.
Kickstart 2.0x and 3.x can handle FFS (fast filesystem) formatted disks too.

Therefor any Workbench disk >1.3 will not work and show-up as "DOS[]".
At the kickstart screen it will refuse to boot.
Anyway the WB 2.x/3.x files are unable to execute under Kickstart 1.x, so it will make no sense to copy the disk into the old filesystem format.

_________________
_____________________________
JMP $00000BED ; will guru-meditation until next morning


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Newbie can't get Workbench installed on Minimig (MIST)
PostPosted: Sat Apr 05, 2014 5:26 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2014 7:35 pm
Posts: 3
Thanks, but I'm not sure that this answers my question. I already figured out that I need matching WB disks and kick rom. I use Kickstart 2.05 (37.30) and the WB 2.1 (38.36) install disk boots fine, I just can't the HDD to show up. I'm not sure if it's the wrong minimig settings, if I created the HDD file wrong, or if it's something I need to do in WB.

To put it simple: What do I have to do to have an (emulated) HDD on a Minimig that has booted into WB2.1 from floppy?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Newbie can't get Workbench installed on Minimig (MIST)
PostPosted: Sat Apr 05, 2014 12:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 1566
Location: .de
Better use the Kickstart 2.05 37.350 from Amiga600.

I don't know the MiST system nor its "ARM firmware porting".
For the MinimigV1 board there are 2 different ARM firmware version available.

Original one that need RDB structure in HDF and the new one also support HFEs starting with the drive bootblock "DOS" string.

In general the HDToolbox from WB2.1 or 3.1 should detect the assigned HDD/HDF at tooltype:
SCSI_DEVICE_NAME=scsi.device
UNIT=0
After setting up the partitions and saving the settings, an AmigaOS reboot is required (3-key reset).
Then a quick format will make the HDD useable.

_________________
_____________________________
JMP $00000BED ; will guru-meditation until next morning


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Newbie can't get Workbench installed on Minimig (MIST)
PostPosted: Sat Apr 05, 2014 1:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2013 1:57 pm
Posts: 18
Hello, I just got my Mist system a couple of weeks ago and I have to say it a very nice piece of hardware.

@timbu Last night I set up a hard disk on the Minimig and followed the Mist Wiki and all the files needed for the install I got from my AmigaForever setup.

Wiki: https://code.google.com/p/mist-board/wi ... assStorage

They left out how to make the Hard disk image from windows but it's the same command described in the AtariMassStorage Wiki just change the file extension.

Windows command:
fsutil file createnew hd64m.hdf 67108864


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Newbie can't get Workbench installed on Minimig (MIST)
PostPosted: Wed Apr 09, 2014 5:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2014 7:35 pm
Posts: 3
Thank to both of you, I will try these.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Newbie can't get Workbench installed on Minimig (MIST)
PostPosted: Mon Sep 01, 2014 10:42 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2008 11:40 am
Posts: 127
Location: France / Luxembourg / Belgique
@Timbu:
You should have took a complete system from, we deliver 2 usable hardfiles on Mist complete configuration ;)

Thanks, Lionel and Laurent
Amedia Computer
Your REAL Mist Reseller ;)

_________________
Faranheit, your Amigaventurer :)
YOUR reseller for Sam, Minimig and FPGA Arcade for Anywhere !
Amedia Computer France SàRL
69, Avenue de la Libération
F-57530 Courcelles-Chaussy
France
Tel : (+33) 7 71 10 72 22
Fax : (+33) 3 87 57 07 21


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Translated by Xaphos © 2007, 2008, 2009 phpBB.fr