Minimig Discussion Forum

Discussing the Open Source FPGA Amiga Project
It is currently Thu Oct 19, 2017 7:44 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: If I had to...
PostPosted: Fri Jan 10, 2014 8:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2008 7:31 am
Posts: 44
Setup a Minimig and an Amiga 500, next to each other, both with an RGB/Scart cables connected to identical CRTs and hide the machines under a table - would one be able to say which is which after playing the same game on both computer?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: If I had to...
PostPosted: Sat Jan 11, 2014 10:08 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 1568
Location: .de
From my point of view: As long as the title will show no Minimig bug, the user can not tell the difference.
Same is the sound output, but Minimig sounds more like an A1200 or a CD32.

I also use Minimig attached to an old 1081 Monitor and it absolutely feels like a real Amiga :)

_________________
_____________________________
JMP $00000BED ; will guru-meditation until next morning


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: If I had to...
PostPosted: Sat Jan 11, 2014 10:15 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2008 7:31 am
Posts: 44
This is awesome :)

By the way, I have contacted Acube about new Minimig 4MB boards and they say there are no more, and they are not sure they are doing any more :(


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: If I had to...
PostPosted: Sun Jan 12, 2014 3:51 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 10:51 pm
Posts: 479
Everblue wrote:
Setup a Minimig and an Amiga 500, next to each other, both with an RGB/Scart cables connected to identical CRTs and hide the machines under a table - would one be able to say which is which after playing the same game on both computer?

An interesting question, i asked this myself also sometimes.

In my opinion, the user will not feel the difference. And i am sure that also in WinUAE, the user will not feel the difference when you take care of the following things:
- use a good considered WinUAE-configuration
- the real 9-Pin Joysticks with a good and fast-reacting joystick-adapter
- the correct Hz-setting on the TV or Monitor (on tube-machines 100Hz for PAL Amiga Emulation, which is 50FPS)
- and most important thing - a good Grafik-Filter which looks like the real Amiga500 picture (for example "bilinear filtering"). this is the most important thing in my opinion, because when the picture here is sharper or more colorful, the user can think, that this is WinUAE.

By the way, I thought since longer time to make exactly this experiment with some of my friends. putting them in front of three monitors or TV`s (best would be tube-televisions for this test) and letting them play, while all hardware is hidden. then they must say, which is WinUAE, A500 and Minimig.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: If I had to...
PostPosted: Sun Jan 12, 2014 9:30 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 1568
Location: .de
If possible use CRT for oldschool/retro computing like Amiga, C64, Atari2600 etc.
LCD suxx due to pixel ghosting and internal screen refresh scroll stocking ;)

_________________
_____________________________
JMP $00000BED ; will guru-meditation until next morning


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Translated by Xaphos © 2007, 2008, 2009 phpBB.fr