Minimig Discussion Forum

Discussing the Open Source FPGA Amiga Project
It is currently Sun Nov 19, 2017 9:41 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: installing applications on Amiga OS 3.1
PostPosted: Sun Oct 10, 2010 10:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 1:30 pm
Posts: 77
Some years ago when I han an amiga 600 I never had the opportunity to install anything, since I didn't have a hard drive! No hd, only 1 floppy... Today I found the time and create a 500mb hdf file and install amiga os 3.1 on my minimig!!! I had some errors on the last step, something about reading volumes but I just click cancel and OS 3.1 was up and running!

I have a simple question. How can I install applications like xcopy and sysinfo on workbench ? Is it possible ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: installing applications on Amiga OS 3.1
PostPosted: Mon Oct 11, 2010 2:02 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 1568
Location: .de
Its always great to make new Amiga experience even on Minimig :)

Basically Workbench is only a graphical CLI (Command Line Interface). Nothing really need to be installed like in MS-Windows terms. Just copy the executeable binary and a matching .info file to any directory folder or the root of your HDD partition.

It also works without .info file, but then in WB menu the "window > show > all files" must be selected.

_________________
_____________________________
JMP $00000BED ; will guru-meditation until next morning


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: installing applications on Amiga OS 3.1
PostPosted: Mon Oct 11, 2010 9:38 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 1:30 pm
Posts: 77
it's just a great feeling, turning on the minimig and boot from the "hd" to the workbench environment! I wish I had an hd back to the Amiga600 days...

Now I am thinking about trying the whdload and install some games. I want also to try Classic Workbench also, though it seems to have a tricky installation.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: installing applications on Amiga OS 3.1
PostPosted: Mon Oct 11, 2010 1:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 1568
Location: .de
I assume you mean Workbench 1.2/1.3 as Classic term ;)
This will require a Kickstart image patch to support A600/1200 "scsi.device" to access the HDF image. Otherwise it only works with floppy DFx image file. Since WB 1.x is not that complex, the boot time in Turbo mode and 2x floppy speed is of about 15-20 sec.
By cleaning-up the s:startup-sequence to a minimum it will only need 5 secs ;)

WHDLoad may be also interesting but since most game come on floppy image only and due to very fast Minimig floppy access, the title will load quite fast.

_________________
_____________________________
JMP $00000BED ; will guru-meditation until next morning


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: installing applications on Amiga OS 3.1
PostPosted: Mon Oct 11, 2010 3:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 1:30 pm
Posts: 77
Actually I mean the Classic WB project! http://classicwb.abime.net/ Have you tried it ? The 68k version would be great for minimig!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: installing applications on Amiga OS 3.1
PostPosted: Mon Oct 11, 2010 6:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 1568
Location: .de
As far as I can tell, the "Classic Workbench" is everything below OS4 or other PPC based OS. This project seems like a WB 3.1 expanded by many tools, nothing Minimig should not be able to offer right now.

Current Minimig will only support up to OS 3.1. Any further release require a larger amount of Fastram and even 020+ cpu support.
The next generation (Minimig AGA on Replay board) may provide all this.

_________________
_____________________________
JMP $00000BED ; will guru-meditation until next morning


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: installing applications on Amiga OS 3.1
PostPosted: Mon Oct 11, 2010 7:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 1:30 pm
Posts: 77
do you think it doesn't worth spending time on these wb packages ?

I see what you mean about classic os. To tell you the truth I am so exiting playing around again with an amiga again ( even a clone ), that I am thinking about purchasing a sam to run os 4.1! A full sam setup costs around 700+ euros which is a lot, but I am still thinking about it. Maybe as a xmas present.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: installing applications on Amiga OS 3.1
PostPosted: Mon Oct 11, 2010 7:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 1568
Location: .de
gxenakis wrote:
do you think it doesn't worth spending time on these wb packages ?

Sure its worth to play and enjoy this.
Maybe I first read, you meant this Classic WB would require any special chipset function to make it run on Minimig.

I also like to use Minimig as a Workbench Amiga, but therefor I still own an A4000 with 060@66MHz cpu, 128MB turbo Fastmem and GFX board ;)
To be honest, Minimig dont provide enough available memory to be useful as a desktop machine. So its a nice playground, mostly for (very) old games, cracktro and demos to me :)

_________________
_____________________________
JMP $00000BED ; will guru-meditation until next morning


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: installing applications on Amiga OS 3.1
PostPosted: Mon Oct 11, 2010 9:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 1:30 pm
Posts: 77
I used to know a guy who owned an amiga 4000! I remember it was boxed in a full tower with 2 drives, it was like a Ferrari to my eyes!

I will try to have as much fun as I can playing around with workbench and trying games. I hope to get installed whdload in order to play all these multi disk games. I am sure now that minimig is worthing every single penny. I've read a thread about transferring files through bluetooth using minimig, this small board is so powerful. It would be great if minimig was able to run cd-rom iso files through the sd card! Can you imagine this ? I am just thinking out loud...

Let's see if a minimig aga or something more even better will come out soon.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: installing applications on Amiga OS 3.1
PostPosted: Mon Oct 11, 2010 10:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 1568
Location: .de
I guess this was a bt serial connector to dump any PIC output or to flash it...
To transfer data via RS232 you will need a terminal programm on Amiga and PC/Mac side But its slow, only 115200bps, so better transfer data directly via sd-card.

You can rename .ISO file into .ISO.HDF and add it as SLAVE hardfile image to the system.
Kickstart 2.05 and higher offer a DosDrivers icon called CD0 to mount it.
You may edit its tool type entries to:
device=scsi.device
unit=1

It works fine here, I already played LemmingsCDTV from this virtual cd-rom drive :)

_________________
_____________________________
JMP $00000BED ; will guru-meditation until next morning


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Translated by Xaphos © 2007, 2008, 2009 phpBB.fr