Minimig Discussion Forum
http://minimig.net/

SD Workbench Classic configuration
http://minimig.net/viewtopic.php?f=14&t=657
Page 2 of 2

Author:  AmigOS [ Sun Nov 08, 2015 4:56 am ]
Post subject:  Re: SD Workbench Classic configuration

@kolla
Looking at the MIST box on the left hand side, the green light goes on, the red light blinks constantly and the yellow light, between the green and red, never goes on or blink. There is no video signal going to the monitor either.

All 47 files in the original SD card are also in the image I'm copying.

Author:  kolla [ Sun Nov 08, 2015 9:12 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: SD Workbench Classic configuration

And pressing F12 does not pop up any menu? If not, it sounds like wrong type of filesystem on the card. I have only used BSD and Linux for formatting SD cards, I would not know how to do it in Windows.

Author:  AmigOS [ Mon Nov 09, 2015 2:34 am ]
Post subject:  Re: SD Workbench Classic configuration

kolla wrote:
And pressing F12 does not pop up any menu? If not, it sounds like wrong type of filesystem on the card. I have only used BSD and Linux for formatting SD cards, I would not know how to do it in Windows.

I read that there is a version of BSD for PC, but I never heard about it until you mentioned it.

So how does it work? How do I format the SD card with BSD?

Author:  boing4000 [ Mon Nov 09, 2015 7:31 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: SD Workbench Classic configuration

This link currently is broken "502. That’s an error.".

MiST sd-card at least need a file named "core.rbf" to be load at startup.
For an AtariST chipset, a file named "tos.img" is required.
For an Amiga chipset, a file named "kick.rom" is required.
All those files must be stored in the sd-card root!
AtariST use *.st disk image and Amiga use *.adf disk image, they can be stored in sub folder.

If anything is wrong, the red LED at the MiST board/case should flash/blink in some error-code pattern.
Most common is the 1-blink-error if no sd-card is detected. Other code need to be asked.

Author:  AmigOS [ Tue Nov 10, 2015 2:22 am ]
Post subject:  Re: SD Workbench Classic configuration

boing4000 wrote:
This link currently is broken "502. That’s an error.".

MiST sd-card at least need a file named "core.rbf" to be load at startup.
For an AtariST chipset, a file named "tos.img" is required.
For an Amiga chipset, a file named "kick.rom" is required.
All those files must be stored in the sd-card root!
AtariST use *.st disk image and Amiga use *.adf disk image, they can be stored in sub folder.

If anything is wrong, the red LED at the MiST board/case should flash/blink in some error-code pattern.
Most common is the 1-blink-error if no sd-card is detected. Other code need to be asked.



Here is the link again, which js supposed to be working, at least it works for me.

The files that you mention in your response are all among the 47 files coped in the SD card.

Author:  kolla [ Wed Nov 11, 2015 1:01 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: SD Workbench Classic configuration

AmigOS wrote:
kolla wrote:
So how does it work? How do I format the SD card with BSD?


Oh. MacOS X, for example, is a BSD. My point was just that I am not sure how to format a card with FAT32 from Windows, I think maybe Windows will try to use exFAT by default when you format a big SD card.

Author:  AmigOS [ Fri Dec 04, 2015 1:23 am ]
Post subject:  Re: SD Workbench Classic configuration

I finally managed to create a back up my MiST configuration using a new 32GB micro SD card. It seems like the other one, even though it was new, it was not working well.

Now I have a new issue with this newly created back up card. I noticed that every time that I boot up the MiST, using the Amiga AGA core the available memory is set to zero (0). So after rebooting I get back 24.1 million kb.

Is there a problem with the original configuration in the microSD card?

Author:  kolla [ Sun Dec 06, 2015 11:50 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: SD Workbench Classic configuration

This is a known issue - from my experimenting, it seems that any kind of software induced reboot causes Fast RAM to vanish. It has nothing to do with your SD card, rest assured. The issue is also being worked on, hopefully there will be a new core release soon where this is fixed :)

Page 2 of 2 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/