Minimig Discussion Forum

Discussing the Open Source FPGA Amiga Project
It is currently Wed Oct 18, 2017 5:52 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: SD Workbench Classic configuration
PostPosted: Sun Nov 08, 2015 4:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2013 8:04 pm
Posts: 13
Location: Pacifica, CA
@kolla
Looking at the MIST box on the left hand side, the green light goes on, the red light blinks constantly and the yellow light, between the green and red, never goes on or blink. There is no video signal going to the monitor either.

All 47 files in the original SD card are also in the image I'm copying.

_________________
SAM460EX @1.15GHz, 2GB Memory, AOS4.1.6 (FE uninstalled) MorphOS 3.7 in Mac Mini G4 1.5GHz. Acer Aspire One with AROS Icaros Desktop 2.0.3


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SD Workbench Classic configuration
PostPosted: Sun Nov 08, 2015 9:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2009 5:02 am
Posts: 175
And pressing F12 does not pop up any menu? If not, it sounds like wrong type of filesystem on the card. I have only used BSD and Linux for formatting SD cards, I would not know how to do it in Windows.

_________________
-- kolla


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SD Workbench Classic configuration
PostPosted: Mon Nov 09, 2015 2:34 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2013 8:04 pm
Posts: 13
Location: Pacifica, CA
kolla wrote:
And pressing F12 does not pop up any menu? If not, it sounds like wrong type of filesystem on the card. I have only used BSD and Linux for formatting SD cards, I would not know how to do it in Windows.

I read that there is a version of BSD for PC, but I never heard about it until you mentioned it.

So how does it work? How do I format the SD card with BSD?

_________________
SAM460EX @1.15GHz, 2GB Memory, AOS4.1.6 (FE uninstalled) MorphOS 3.7 in Mac Mini G4 1.5GHz. Acer Aspire One with AROS Icaros Desktop 2.0.3


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SD Workbench Classic configuration
PostPosted: Mon Nov 09, 2015 7:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 1568
Location: .de
This link currently is broken "502. That’s an error.".

MiST sd-card at least need a file named "core.rbf" to be load at startup.
For an AtariST chipset, a file named "tos.img" is required.
For an Amiga chipset, a file named "kick.rom" is required.
All those files must be stored in the sd-card root!
AtariST use *.st disk image and Amiga use *.adf disk image, they can be stored in sub folder.

If anything is wrong, the red LED at the MiST board/case should flash/blink in some error-code pattern.
Most common is the 1-blink-error if no sd-card is detected. Other code need to be asked.

_________________
_____________________________
JMP $00000BED ; will guru-meditation until next morning


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SD Workbench Classic configuration
PostPosted: Tue Nov 10, 2015 2:22 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2013 8:04 pm
Posts: 13
Location: Pacifica, CA
boing4000 wrote:
This link currently is broken "502. That’s an error.".

MiST sd-card at least need a file named "core.rbf" to be load at startup.
For an AtariST chipset, a file named "tos.img" is required.
For an Amiga chipset, a file named "kick.rom" is required.
All those files must be stored in the sd-card root!
AtariST use *.st disk image and Amiga use *.adf disk image, they can be stored in sub folder.

If anything is wrong, the red LED at the MiST board/case should flash/blink in some error-code pattern.
Most common is the 1-blink-error if no sd-card is detected. Other code need to be asked.



Here is the link again, which js supposed to be working, at least it works for me.

The files that you mention in your response are all among the 47 files coped in the SD card.

_________________
SAM460EX @1.15GHz, 2GB Memory, AOS4.1.6 (FE uninstalled) MorphOS 3.7 in Mac Mini G4 1.5GHz. Acer Aspire One with AROS Icaros Desktop 2.0.3


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SD Workbench Classic configuration
PostPosted: Wed Nov 11, 2015 1:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2009 5:02 am
Posts: 175
AmigOS wrote:
kolla wrote:
So how does it work? How do I format the SD card with BSD?


Oh. MacOS X, for example, is a BSD. My point was just that I am not sure how to format a card with FAT32 from Windows, I think maybe Windows will try to use exFAT by default when you format a big SD card.

_________________
-- kolla


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SD Workbench Classic configuration
PostPosted: Fri Dec 04, 2015 1:23 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2013 8:04 pm
Posts: 13
Location: Pacifica, CA
I finally managed to create a back up my MiST configuration using a new 32GB micro SD card. It seems like the other one, even though it was new, it was not working well.

Now I have a new issue with this newly created back up card. I noticed that every time that I boot up the MiST, using the Amiga AGA core the available memory is set to zero (0). So after rebooting I get back 24.1 million kb.

Is there a problem with the original configuration in the microSD card?

_________________
SAM460EX @1.15GHz, 2GB Memory, AOS4.1.6 (FE uninstalled) MorphOS 3.7 in Mac Mini G4 1.5GHz. Acer Aspire One with AROS Icaros Desktop 2.0.3


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SD Workbench Classic configuration
PostPosted: Sun Dec 06, 2015 11:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2009 5:02 am
Posts: 175
This is a known issue - from my experimenting, it seems that any kind of software induced reboot causes Fast RAM to vanish. It has nothing to do with your SD card, rest assured. The issue is also being worked on, hopefully there will be a new core release soon where this is fixed :)

_________________
-- kolla


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Translated by Xaphos © 2007, 2008, 2009 phpBB.fr