Minimig Discussion Forum
http://minimig.net/

minimig-mist AGA v1.1 release
http://minimig.net/viewtopic.php?f=14&t=654
Page 2 of 2

Author:  boing4000 [ Fri Oct 02, 2015 10:21 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: minimig-mist AGA v1.1 release

There are a lot of old demos having trouble with enabled ECS or AGA chipset feature.
Even some modern demo seems to have such trouble, but the other way arround... called OCS title but only work with ECS.

Still the switch between the chipset generation is THE big advantage of Minimig or any FPGA replica since no other hardware model can offer this. UAE can but its software on some host system.
Therefore I would love to see the chipset switch back to o-t-f without an Amiga-reset, just as it is in the non-AGA core or the original Minimig board core.

Author:  kolla [ Tue Oct 20, 2015 1:03 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: minimig-mist AGA v1.1 release

I have game I wish would sound better on MIST :)

http://aminet.net/package/game/think/tltetris

The music is somewhat weird and off on MIST, much better on Minimig, and perfect on UAE and real hardware.

Author:  chaos [ Sat Oct 24, 2015 10:00 am ]
Post subject:  Re: minimig-mist AGA v1.1 release

Works OK for me. Did you try disabling / enabling turbo?

Author:  kolla [ Sun Oct 25, 2015 1:27 am ]
Post subject:  Re: minimig-mist AGA v1.1 release

Well, this turned out to be quite interesting. I first tried different turbo modes, but no difference. Then I tried booting without startup-sequence, and lo and behold - it worked, the music playing nicely! So I tried to figure out what in my startup-sequence that could cause it to play badly, but no success. Then something struck me - when I boot without startup-sequence, from boot menu, that is one of those cases when FastRAM is gone. So I set the MIST to boot by default directly into thelasttetris, which means with all 24MB of RAM available... and music was bad again. Curious I exited the game, checked with avail that all FastRAM was there (which it was), then ran "nofastmem" in the background and checked that FastRAM now was 0 before starting thelasttetris again, and lo and behold... music all good again! I exited the game, sent nofastmem a break, ran game again... bad music. I did this many times with and without FastRAM, and every time FastRAM is present, the music plays badly. So now I am extra interested in your next update! :D

Btw, when I say the music plays badly, it is not obvious, it just seems to skip "tones" here and there. I will try to find the module used, and see if it is a general problem with this song :)

EDIT: I found the mod, it has slightly different "lead" instrument than in the game, but otherwise identical and plays perfectly in HippoPlayer and Protracker on MIST :)

http://aminet.net/package/mods/otis/sunnory

Page 2 of 2 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/