Minimig Discussion Forum

Discussing the Open Source FPGA Amiga Project
It is currently Thu Jun 29, 2017 12:18 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 123 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: FPGA ARCADE
PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2012 6:02 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2008 11:40 am
Posts: 127
Location: France / Luxembourg / Belgique
Hi Jakub,

Thanks for your precisions !

It's been a long time since your last comment, I'm happy to hear you, especially for the FPGA Arcade board for which I'm waiting the new firmware release as soon as possible ;)

Great job Mike and Jakub :)

Thanks, Laurent aka Faranheit

_________________
Faranheit, your Amigaventurer :)
YOUR reseller for Sam, Minimig and FPGA Arcade for Anywhere !
Amedia Computer France SàRL
69, Avenue de la Libération
F-57530 Courcelles-Chaussy
France
Tel : (+33) 7 71 10 72 22
Fax : (+33) 3 87 57 07 21


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FPGA ARCADE
PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2012 9:52 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2012 11:42 pm
Posts: 29
What is not ready in the core? Wouldn't it be a good idea to work towards a public repository (like Github or whatever) already releasing everything as GPLv3? That way, others can start hacking for real, but you are still the one to decide which patches to pull into the upstream base.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FPGA ARCADE
PostPosted: Sat May 12, 2012 9:02 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2008 11:40 am
Posts: 127
Location: France / Luxembourg / Belgique
Hi all there ;)

I have added some pictures of the FPGA Arcade board fully assembled in a Mini ITX case HERE.

You will notice that this case is VESA compatible so I have mounted it directly on my 15'' monitor.

Also, I have made a little video making it starting and launching Arcade Pool CD32 game on this board HERE.

Thanks to Mike for releasing the ATX adapter and the I/O backpanel with which integration of FPGA Arcade boards is easier !

Have a nice look ;)

_________________
Faranheit, your Amigaventurer :)
YOUR reseller for Sam, Minimig and FPGA Arcade for Anywhere !
Amedia Computer France SàRL
69, Avenue de la Libération
F-57530 Courcelles-Chaussy
France
Tel : (+33) 7 71 10 72 22
Fax : (+33) 3 87 57 07 21


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FPGA ARCADE
PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 5:26 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2012 11:42 pm
Posts: 29
Faranheit wrote:
Thanks to Mike for releasing the ATX adapter


What are the power requirements for the board including the 060 expansion? I am looking into this beautiful Amigish case which comes with a 55W power supply. Is that enough?

http://www.proshop.se/Datorchassi/Morex ... 10358.html

What function has the ATX power adapter? If I can provide +5V and +12V through the molex plug, or +5V to the mini power plug, would I still need the ATX adapter? Is +12V needed at all?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FPGA ARCADE
PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 6:13 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2008 11:40 am
Posts: 127
Location: France / Luxembourg / Belgique
Hi Johey,

Only Jakub or Mike can answer for the power consumption of the upcoming 060 daughter board.

Personnaly, I suppose that 55W should be enough even with the 060 board.

Just one thing:
I have tried to find the case you have mentionned, it seems to be a very old model from 2003, it's strange to see it still on a webshop, be aware of it.

Laurent aka Faranheit

_________________
Faranheit, your Amigaventurer :)
YOUR reseller for Sam, Minimig and FPGA Arcade for Anywhere !
Amedia Computer France SàRL
69, Avenue de la Libération
F-57530 Courcelles-Chaussy
France
Tel : (+33) 7 71 10 72 22
Fax : (+33) 3 87 57 07 21


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FPGA ARCADE
PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 8:45 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2009 5:02 am
Posts: 175
yaqube wrote:
There is 64MB of DDR memory on the board. It is used as:
0.5/1/2 MB of CHIP RAM
0/2/4/8 of ZORRO II FAST RAM
0/0.5/1/1.5 of SLOW RAM
0.5/1/2 for ROM
remaining 48MB can be used as extra FAST RAM or it can be configured as extra CHIP RAM


Can one also split it up, for example 12MB of CHIP RAM and 36MB FAST RAM? How is speed of CHIP RAM, SLOW RAM and ZORRO II FAST compared to FAST RAM on FPGA-arcade?

_________________
-- kolla


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FPGA ARCADE
PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 9:01 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 1566
Location: .de
johey wrote:
Faranheit wrote:
Thanks to Mike for releasing the ATX adapter


What are the power requirements for the board including the 060 expansion? I am looking into this beautiful Amigish case which comes with a 55W power supply. Is that enough?


FAR enough!
The FPGA Arcade board will consume about 1A at maximum.
The 68060 extender board may use the same or a bit more, say 2A atr maximum.

So there is a total power current/consume of approx. 3Ampere x 5Volts = 15Watts

_________________
_____________________________
JMP $00000BED ; will guru-meditation until next morning


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FPGA ARCADE
PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 10:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2012 11:42 pm
Posts: 29
Good!

I ordered the case today, just in case... :geek: Suppose I can afford the board within two weeks. Maybe the Minimig v1.1 has to go, but we'll see about that.

Another question: Will I need a fan? I know the heat of the 68060 and that it depends on the revision, but is there anything else going hot? I'm not a fan of small fans.

Oh, those words with double meaning... :ugeek:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FPGA ARCADE
PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 2:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 10:11 am
Posts: 197
johey wrote:
What are the power requirements for the board including the 060 expansion?

The board is powered only from +5V power rail. The peak power consumption is:

FPGA Arcade alone : 700mA (3.5W)
FPGA Arcade + 060@106MHz : 2.2A (11W)

On the daughterboard there are 3 USB host ports which can sink up to 0.5A each. So you need another 7.5W for USB devices which gives 18.5W in total.

johey wrote:
Another question: Will I need a fan?

Running the 060 at over 100 MHz makes it quite hot. A fan is necessary. If you decrease clock frequency to 80-90 MHz it can run with passive cooling.

kolla wrote:
Can one also split it up, for example 12MB of CHIP RAM and 36MB FAST RAM?

I'm not going to implement any other memory configs. Why do you need this?

kolla wrote:
How is speed of CHIP RAM, SLOW RAM and ZORRO II FAST compared to FAST RAM on FPGA-arcade?

Excluding Fast RAM on the daughterboard all the other memory has the same access speed. The maximum transfer rate is 28MB/s but it depends on DMA load.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FPGA ARCADE
PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 3:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2012 11:42 pm
Posts: 29
yaqube wrote:
The board is powered only from +5V power rail.


Thanks! I'm a little confused over the ATX power adapter. What is the purpose of it, more than converting sockets? Does it add a voltage stabilizer or something else needed by the FPGA Arcade?

I just ask because I am planning what to buy. Is it really needed, or can I just use any +5V lead from the PSU?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 123 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Translated by Xaphos © 2007, 2008, 2009 phpBB.fr